Wet n Wild Mega Cushion Highlighter and Contour – Worth the Hype?

Portable cushion compacts are a staple in almost every girl’s well-stocked makeup arsenal. In the last couple years both high-end and drug store brands have either a cushion foundation, BB cream, color corrector or bronzer to choose from.  As I stated in my first post, Wet n Wild has really stepped up their cosmetics game. And since I have heard so many good things about their Mega Cushion line, I knew I had to try a few products. So off to my local Walgreens I went.

First up is the Mega Cushion Highlighter, which retails for $5.99. I wasn’t sure what to expect, as my skin tone would be considered porcelain with pink undertones. This highlighter creates a beautiful, iridescent lavender color on me. Very dewy and pretty and easy to apply with the sponge (included).  However, I feel it’s best applied with a stipple brush. It was less messy and easier to build up the amount of product to get the look I wanted. The Wet n Wild Mega Cushion Highlighter is a steal for the price, as it can be used on cheekbones, brow bones and even your bottom lip.

As impressive as the highlighter was, I wish I could say the same about the Mega Cushion Cafe au Slay contour, which also retails for $5.99. I was so excited to try this as a new way to sculpt my face. However, the color of this contour was so dark and reddish orange on me it looked like I had mud all over my face. The first time I looked at myself in sunlight, I wanted to faint. My skin tone is far too light to use this product. Even with the lightest of touch with the sponge or a contour brush, I looked bruised.  This contour did not want to play nicely with my pink undertones.

Unfortunately for me, I will pass the Cafe au Slay contour on to my beautiful olive-skinned 16 year old niece. But the highlighter is staying in my makeup bag, safely on the Dark Side!

Leave a Reply

