Lights, Camera, Action!

Can three budget-friendly products that claim to make your face “selfie-ready” really work?  This Dark Side Diva decided to put the new Photo Focus line from Wet n Wild to the test.

The products, which are now a permanent fixture in the WnW line, consist of a foundation, concealer, and pressed powder.  They are made with a matte, light-diffusing complex which prevents that horrible white cast in our photos.

The foundation comes in 20 shades and retails for $6. I chose the second lightest shade, Shell Ivory, because I cannot find the lightest shade, Porcelain, anywhere.  I do really need the lightest shade, as the Shell Ivory is a tad too pink for my skin tone. I can work with it, but would be a better summer color for me.  The foundation offers medium coverage, but you are able to build on it.  It comes with a paddle applicator, which I loved.  But it worked best for me when I applied a primer first and then used a beauty blender to buff it onto my face.   This foundation made my skin look radiant and shine-free and was very comfortable to wear.

The Photo Focus concealer comes in 6 shades and retails for $4.  I was able to find and use the lightest shade, Light Ivory. This concealer is nearly as good as my Nars product, it’s just a little thicker and needs more blending.  It provides fantastic coverage under my eyes and any other problem areas that need a little extra coverage.  It can also be used to highlight and contour your face if you use the correct colors.

Wet n Wild Photo Focus pressed powder comes in 8 shades and retails for $5.  I used the lightest shade, Warm Light.  It set my face perfectly, isn’t cakey, reduces shine and provides a silky looking finish.

I am very impressed with these three products!  With all the high end goodies out there, it would be easy to ignore this line.  But a very big mistake you would make.  There are plenty of shades to choose from and they can be found at major retailers like WalMart, Target, CVS, Walgreens, etc. for a whopping $15 for all three products (or less with in-store coupons and buy one get one 50% off promos).  So whether you want to up your selfie game or just look better for work, Wet n Wild’s Photo Focus line is definitely worth a try.

One comment

Leave a Reply

