Dark Side Hall of Shame: High-End Edition

This is a painful post for me to write.  I have to admit that there are certain high-end and drug store beauty products that were complete fails for me.  Please don’t think I’m crazy!  I gave these products a great try, but to no avail.  So today, I focus on the high-end beauties that get a thumbs-down from the diva.  In no unfortunate order they are:

Happy fragrance by Clinique:  A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I was a beauty advisor for Clinique and we were expected to wear Happy.  Every.  Damn.  Day.  I can still remember the top notes without looking them up:  red grapefruit, boysenberry, bergamot, and mimosa.  A migraine-inducing, citrus exploding scent of horrendous proportions.  When combined with my body chemistry, it turned completely rancid.  To this day I can still smell this perfume from a mile away.  And I most certainly am not “Happy” about it!

Estee Lauder Revitalizing Supreme Cream:  Not so long ago, I was also a beauty advisor for Lauder.  Therefore, I was a test subject for this anti-aging, collagen-boosting cream.  It not only failed to live up to those claims, it also clogged my pores and turned my face into a shiny, greasy mess.  Imagine your face covered in frosting mixed with baby oil.  That’s exactly how I felt, even without makeup on.  A “Supreme” fail to say the least.

Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara by Tarte:  Messy, clumping, and disgusting.  And that’s just the wand.  I had such hopes for this mascara, as it has quite a cult following.  It claims to lengthen, curl, add volume, and condition. All it did for me was run, smudge, and make a tremendous mess.  My lashes never looked any different at all.  In full disclosure, I have not tried the waterproof version. And in all honesty, I never will.

Josie Maran Vibrancy Argan Oil Foundation:  I absolutely love Josie’s line. Well, 99% of it.  This foundation is the 1% that does not work for me.  It claims to be a lightweight, medium to full coverage product.  I used the lightest shade called Dynamic and it just wasn’t fair enough for my skin tone.  I could never even get it to a medium coverage and it was so oily on me.  That surprised me because I can use all her other Argan Oil products without any problems. I will continue to use her line because the products are cruelty free, made of all organic ingredients, and are made in recyclable containers. I truly wish this foundation would have worked for me!

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer:  I’m probably going to get grief over this one, but I absolutely despise this primer.  It claims to be lightweight and blur pores. Unfortunately it did the opposite on me.  It made my pores embarrassingly exaggerated no matter what foundation I used or how much of the product I used.  With or without makeup on, using this primer makes my face look atrocious.  And for $36 a tube, that’s a major disappointment.

Unfortunately, these high end beauty bombs will never see the dark side of my vanity. They had a fighting chance, but as with all things beauty, brand name and price sometimes cannot save a product.

Check out my next post where I discuss the 5 drug store products that caused me major grief!

5 comments

    1. Thank you Debbie! I enjoy a lot of the ELF primers. Not only are the inexpensive, the truly work the best! And they have quite the selection. Laura Geller’s Spackle is a great, high end version also. The best deals for her line are on QVC!

      Like

  1. What an informative post! Thank you….I will not waste my money on these products. I trust you completely, so if DarthLisa says something isn’t worth buying, you better believe I won’t be buying it! Love your blog! Look forward to each one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Stephanie! I appreciate your kind words and you have no idea how much they mean to me! I have many more blog posts coming up and I hope you continue to enjoy them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

