Dark Side Hall of Shame: Drug Store Edition

In my last blog post, I wrote about 5 high-end beauty products that were busts for me.  Now here are my drug store duds.  Again, no particular order:

Hard Candy Just Glow Baked Illuminating Powder Duo:   A long name for garbage.  I could use the entirety of this duo and nothing would show up on my face.  It didn’t matter what type of makeup brush I used.  No illumination, no glow, nothing.  I know I have a very fair skin tone, but I should have seen something.  Absolutely no pigmentation what so ever.  Had I done my due diligence and checked their website, I would have seen a rating of 1.7 out of 5.  Enough said!

Wet n Wild Setting Spray:  Wow, a $4 dupe to the Urban Decay formula!! I might as well have used a toxic bug spray on my face.  Sticky, disgusting smell, uneven application, actually took my breath away. A nope, never again, not in a million years product!

LA Colors Matte Liquid Lipstick:  Sometimes you get what you paid for.  And at only $2, this is definitely the case.  These are horribly dreadful, drying, peeling, cracking and offer uneven coverage.  The darker colors are just putrid looking. However, their high shine lip glosses are beautiful and I recommend picking up every color you see!

Almay Black Liquid Eyeliner:  I have never been impressed with the Almay line.  It’s just never jumped out at me, nothing special or unique about the brand.  I decided to try the liquid eyeliner and immediately regretted it.  Horrible brush, runny color and takes forever to dry.  Blink and you’ll mess up your entire eye look,  trust me.   And if you’re as unlucky as I am, you’ll get a terrible case of conjunctivitis as a bonus.  No coupons needed!

Revlon Colorstay 16 Hour Eyeshadow Quad:  Chalky, creased on me, color changed throughout the day.  I never ended the day with the same colors that I started with.  I had the quad called “Decadent”, pinky, nude, mauve  shades.  A lot of fallout, hard to blend.  A disappointment of “Decadent” proportions.

Thankfully, I have had many more passes than fails in my lifetime of beauty products.  I will give any and all a chance, but sometimes things just don’t work out.  Have you had any bad luck with products?  Or a major beauty fail?  What products would be on your Hall of Shame?  Comment below, I’d love to hear from you!

3 comments

    1. Hi Bernie! Is there any L’Oreal item in particular that you have an interest in? I love their Voluminous mascara and primer, foundations and lipsticks. I am curious about their new Infallible Paint products, so hopefully I’ll be reviewing them soon!

      Like

      1. Eyeshadows! I’m not very good at picking them out, so I’d hate to go high end Chanel. L’Oreal seems like they have similar colors, but I’d hate to waste more money. Even though I know cheaper isn’t always better, I wonder which drugstore shadows are worth it?

        Like

Leave a Reply

